US Water Systems Matrixx Smart Metered Water Softener (MXX-100, 10 gpm)
Listings checked Oct. 13, 2026
Certified to
Not on any listing
NSF, WQA, IAPMO, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Every claim on this page is the maker’s alone.
- Service flow
- 10 gpm
- Built for
- Not stated
- Rated capacity
- 35,000 grains
- Regenerates
- On demand
Maker’s list price
$2,445
as of Oct. 13, 2026
Five years, household of 3
$2,445
0.6¢ per gallon
Salt can’t be counted. The real total is higher.
List price from the maker’s site, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Prices change; the maker’s page is the final word.
No certification found
Not on any listingNSF, WQA, IAPMO, checked Oct. 13, 2026
TapBuff searched the certifiers’ own listings and found nothing for this product. That does not mean it does not work. It means no independent certifier has confirmed what it reduces, so every claim below is the maker’s alone.
Certified for, and claimed
Certified, by a listing
Nothing.
Claimed by the maker only
- hardness, by salt-based ion exchange
What it costs over five years
Household of 3, 240 gallons a day through the whole house. Installation not included.
| Item | Replaced | Count | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| System, with first media | — | 1 | $2,445 |
Five-year total$2,445
Per gallon0.6¢
Not included, because the maker publishes no price or rating: salt (the maker names no setting as its default or rated one). The real total is higher.
Work it out for your waterSalt and regeneration
The maker publishes the settings below but names none as its default and states no efficiency for any, so TapBuff leaves salt out of its total rather than pick one.
| Salt per regeneration | Capacity | Grains a pound | Water each time |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 lb | 15,000 grains | 5,000 | 33 gal |
| 6 lb | 24,000 grains | 4,000 | 59 gal |
| 15 lb | 32,000 grains | 2,133 | 67 gal |
Settings from Matrixx Smart Metered Water Softener (salt settings table), US Water Systems, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Less salt per regeneration gets more from each pound but regenerates more often.
Softening water at 10 grains per gallon adds about 80 mg/L of sodium, by Nebraska Extension’s figure of about 8 mg/L a grain.
Worth knowing
The maker labels its three settings "High Efficiency," "Optimal" and "Maximum" but names none as the default or states an efficiency, so its salt isn't worked out here. It says its control valve is WQA Gold Seal certified and its resin NSF certified; those are parts, and no listing covers the softener. Its page gives a peak flow of 12 gpm in one place and 27 in another; 10 gpm is the size it is sold as. Price recorded is the $2,444.92 list price; US Water Systems showed $1,466.95 on Oct. 13, 2026.
Install requirements
| Kind | Water softener |
|---|---|
| Rated media life | Not stated |
| Needs a drain | Not stated |
| Needs power | Yes |
Other whole-house systems
- Aquasana SimplySoft 40,000 Grain Softener (WH-SF40)44
- SoftPro Elite Smart HE Water Softener, 40,000 GrainNo listing
- A.O. Smith 40,000-Grain Water Softener (AO-WH-SOFT-400T)44
- WaterBoss Model 900 Water Softener44
- SpringWell Salt Based Water Softener System (SS1)No listing
- WaterBoss Model 700 Water Softener44
- Whirlpool 30,000 Grain Water Softener (WHES30)44
- GE Smart Water Softener with Integrated Filtration, 30,000 Grain (GXMD30W)44 · 42