Skip to content
TapBuff

GE Smart Water Softener, 45,000 Grain (GXSH45W)

Checked against its certification listings: what they cover, what the maker claims, and what it costs over five years.
Water softener

Listings checked Oct. 13, 2026

Certified to

Certified for: Hardness

Service flow
9.6 gpm
Built for
City or well water
Rated capacity
45,000 grains
Regenerates
On demand

Maker’s list price

$799

as of Oct. 13, 2026

Five years, household of 3

$1,016

0.2¢ per gallon

Salt included, at 10 grains per gallon

Disclosure: TapBuff earns a commission if you buy through some links on this page. It does not change which standard or filter we name. As an Amazon Associate, TapBuff earns from qualifying purchases. How TapBuff makes money

List price from the maker’s site, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Prices change; the maker’s page is the final word.

What the listings say

StandardCertifierClaimsListing
NSF/ANSI 44IAPMOHardness; Barium/Radium 226/228Read the listing checked Oct. 13, 2026

Certified for, and claimed

Certified, by a listing

Claimed by the maker only

  • hardness up to 165 grains per gallon
  • clear water iron up to 5 ppm

What it costs over five years

Household of 3, 240 gallons a day through the whole house. Installation not included. Salt at 10 grains per gallon (171 mg/L), an example hardness, and $9.88 a 40-lb bag (The Home Depot, Oct. 13, 2026).

ItemReplacedCountAmount
System, with first media—1$799
Salt, 40-lb bagsA bag every 3 months171 lb a year at 10 grains per gallon22$217

Five-year total$1,016

Per gallon0.2¢

Work it out for your water

Salt and regeneration

Worked out at its efficiency-rated setting: 19,904 grains of hardness on 3.89 lb of salt, 5,120 grains a pound. At 10 grains per gallon (171 mg/L), a household of 3 would use about 171 lb of salt a year, and it would regenerate about every 8 days, sending about 1,674 gallons a year to the drain.

Salt settings the maker publishes
Salt per regenerationCapacityGrains a poundWater each time
3.89 lbUsed for the cost19,904 grains5,12038 gal
9.8 lb39,364 grains4,017Not stated
25.42 lb55,424 grains2,18075 gal

Settings from GXSH35W, GXMD30W and GXSH45W Owner's Manual and Installation Instructions (49-6000319 Rev. 2), page 4, GE Appliances, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Less salt per regeneration gets more from each pound but regenerates more often.

The maker gives a maximum of 165 grains per gallon.

Softening water at 10 grains per gallon adds about 80 mg/L of sodium, by Nebraska Extension’s figure of about 8 mg/L a grain.

Every softener, worked out for your water

Worth knowing

IAPMO lists it at 11 gpm; GE's manual rates it at 9.6 gpm. Demand-initiated, with WiFi. The manual says its "Salt Saver" setting, which keeps it at 4,000 grains per pound or better, is off until you turn it on, and must be on in California; the salt figures here are at its efficiency-rated setting. The manual's tables are certified only at the highest and lowest salt doses. Price is GE's own, on Oct. 13, 2026.

Install requirements

KindWater softener
Rated media lifeNot stated
Needs a drainYes
Needs powerYes