Skip to content
TapBuff

Rheem Preferred 32,000 Grain Water Softener (RHS32)

Checked against its certification listings: what they cover, what the maker claims, and what it costs over five years.
Water softener

Listings checked Oct. 13, 2026

Certified to

Certified for: Hardness

Service flow
7.9 gpm
Built for
Not stated
Rated capacity
32,000 grains
Regenerates
On demand

Home Depot’s price

$489

as of Oct. 13, 2026

Five years, household of 3

$716

0.2¢ per gallon

Salt included, at 10 grains per gallon

Price from The Home Depot’s page, checked Oct. 13, 2026. The maker publishes no price. Prices change and can differ by store; Home Depot’s page is the final word.

What the listings say

StandardCertifierClaimsListing
NSF/ANSI 44NSFBarium Reduction; Efficiency Rated; Hardness Reduction; Radium 226/228 ReductionRead the listing checked Oct. 13, 2026

Certified for, and claimed

Certified, by a listing

Claimed by the maker only

  • hardness up to 105 grains per gallon
  • clear water (ferrous) iron up to 8 ppm

What it costs over five years

Household of 3, 240 gallons a day through the whole house. Installation not included. Salt at 10 grains per gallon (171 mg/L), an example hardness, and $9.88 a 40-lb bag (The Home Depot, Oct. 13, 2026).

ItemReplacedCountAmount
System, with first media—1$489
Salt, 40-lb bagsA bag every 3 months177 lb a year at 10 grains per gallon23$227

Five-year total$716

Per gallon0.2¢

Work it out for your water

Salt and regeneration

Worked out at its efficiency-rated setting: 12,844 grains of hardness on 2.6 lb of salt, 4,940 grains a pound. At 10 grains per gallon (171 mg/L), a household of 3 would use about 177 lb of salt a year, and it would regenerate about every 5 days.

Salt settings the maker publishes
Salt per regenerationCapacityGrains a poundWater each time
2.6 lbUsed for the cost12,844 grains4,940Not stated
14.1 lb33,000 grains2,340Not stated

Settings from Preferred Water Softener (specifications), Rheem Water Treatment, checked Oct. 13, 2026. Less salt per regeneration gets more from each pound but regenerates more often.

The maker gives a maximum of 105 grains per gallon.

Softening water at 10 grains per gallon adds about 80 mg/L of sodium, by Nebraska Extension’s figure of about 8 mg/L a grain.

Every softener, worked out for your water

Worth knowing

NSF lists it at 8 gpm; Rheem's page rates it at 7.9 gpm. Rheem's page publishes only two points: 33,000 grains at 14.1 lb of salt, and an efficiency of 4,940 grains a pound at 2.6 lb, so the capacity at 2.6 lb is those two multiplied. It says the softener learns the household's water use; it doesn't say whether it is for city or well water, or state its power or drain needs, and its manual would not load. Rheem says it sells only through The Home Depot, which showed $489 on Oct. 13, 2026.

Install requirements

KindWater softener
Rated media lifeNot stated
Needs a drainNot stated
Needs powerNot stated